Burna Boy’s ‘Destiny’ Makes Joe Biden And Kamala Harris’ Inauguration Playlist

Joe Biden and Kamala Harris on January 20, 2021 will be sworn in as the new President and Vice President of the United States of America and on the inauguration playlist, Nigerian superstar artiste, Burna Boy‘s hit track “Destiny” makes the list.

‘Destiny’, a song about power of providence and divination is the 13th track on Burna Boy’s Grammy-nominated “African Giant” album.

The Presidential Inaugural Committee’s CEO, Tony Allen, explained the criteria behind the song selection in a statement, published in The Insider.

He said the playlist is meant to “honour music as a consistent vehicle that has kept us connected through a challenging year”.

“These songs and artistes reflect the relentless spirit and rich diversity of America. They are the score to a new chapter and will help bring people together as the Biden-Harris Administration begins its important work to unite our country,” he noted.

Burna Boy appears to be a favorite in the White House, having made former U.S. President, Barack Obama, and wife, Michelle‘s playlist in 2019 and 2020 respectively.

The star-studded playlist which is now available on Soundcloud, Apple Music, Spotify, and TIDAL, includes 46 tracks.

The playlist was put together by producer and rapper DJ D-Nice and actress Issa Rae‘s Raedio, in partnership with the Presidential Inaugural Committee.

The multi-generational playlist includes tracks by SZA, Beyoncé, Kendrick Lamar, Stevie Wonder, Mary J Blige, Marvin Gaye, and the late Bob Marley.

The inaugural committee announced that Lady Gaga will sing the American national anthem while Jennifer Lopez will also perform some of her songs.

Listen to the Inauguration Playlist below: