Champions League Draw To Hold On Thursday

The draw for this year’s edition of the Champions League takes place on Thursday at 17:00 BST in Istanbul, with defending champions Chelsea among the teams waiting to find out who they will face in the group stage.

Fellow Premier League sides Manchester City, who were last year’s beaten finalists, Manchester United and Liverpool are all in the pot too.

There are 26 teams that have qualified for the group stage automatically, with a further six sides progressing via the play-offs, with 3 of them having already secured qualification.

Spain have five qualifiers, four through their finish in La Liga plus Villarreal after winning the Europa League.

The already qualified teams include; Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Sevilla, Villarreal, Manchester City, Manchester United, Liverpool, Chelsea, Bayern Munich, RB Leipzig, Borussia Dortmund, Wolfsburg, Inter Milan, AC Milan, Atalanta, Juventus, Lille, Paris St-Germain, Sporting Lisbon, Porto, Zenit St Petersburg, Club Brugge, Dynamo Kyiv, Ajax, Besiktas.

With one half of the qualifiers already complete, sides such as Young Boys, Malmoe FF and Benfica have already secured their slots in the competition. The other half of the qualifiers will be decided late Wednesday night.