The Ballon d’Or nominees for 2018 were announced on Monday with the 30-player shortlist released.


Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Neymar Jr., Paul Pogba, Gareth Bale, Kevin De Bruyne, Kylian Mbappe, Luka Modric, N’golo Kante, Luis Suarez, are on the list.


Joining them are two African players in Egypt’s Mohamed Salah and Senegal’s Sadio Mane who both play for Liverpool.


Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero is nominated as is another prolific South American striker, Edinson Cavani of Uruguay and Paris Saint-Germain.


Two goalkeepers are also among the first 10 – Thibaut Courtois of Belgium and Real Madrid and Liverpool and Brazil stopper Alisson Becker.


Liverpool’s Brazilian Roberto Firmino is also nominated and Uruguay’s rugged defender Diego Godin of Atletico Madrid also got the nod.


The Ballon d’Or was first won by Englishman Stanley Matthews in 1956 and in 2010, it merged with FIFA’s The Best Award to become the FIFA Ballon d’Or. This went on until 2016.


The award is decided by a ballot of journalists from around the world.


Cristiano Ronaldo has won the last two editions of the Ballon d’Or.


The award ceremony is scheduled to hold on December 3rd in Paris.


See full list below:


  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus


  • Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)


  • Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid)


  • Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid)


  • Kevin de Bruyne (Belgium, Manchester City)


  • Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Manchester City)


  • Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid)


  • Edinson Cavani (Paris St. Germain)


  • Neymar (Brazil, Paris St. Germain)


  • Paul Pogba (France, Manchester United)


  • Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Barcelona)


  • Antoine Griezmann (France, Atletico Madrid)


  • Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris St. Germain)


  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)


  • Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea)


  • Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)


  • Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Real Madrid)


  • Roberto Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool)


  • Harry Kane (England, Tottenham)


  • N’Golo Kante (France, Chelsea)


  • Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool)


  • Ivan Rakitic (Croatia, Barcelona)


  • Hugo Lloris (France, Tottenham)


  • Isco (Spain, Real Madrid)


  • Mario Mandzukic (Croatia, Juventus)


  • Diego Godin (Uruguay, Atletico Madrid)


  • Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid)


  • Alisson (Brazil, Liverpool)


  • Jan Oblak (Slovenia, Atletico Madrid)


  • Raphael Varane (France, Real Madrid)







Leave a Comment