Def Jam Africa Presents ‘Rhythms Of Zamunda’, The Official Soundtrack Album To ‘Coming To America’

Def Jam Recordings, in conjunction with Def Jam Africa, has announced the release date of the “Coming 2 America” soundtrack titled “Rhythms of Zamunda”.

The soundtrack is a collection of originals from African artists and inspired by the highly anticipated sequel to legacy comedy movie. It is set for release on Friday, March 5, 2021.

Leading the project, Def Jam Recording artist and South Africa’s most streamed artist Nasty C has released the video for “Black & White” featuring U.S. R&B singer, Ari Lennox.

Check below:

The 16-track compilation – curated by CEO, Universal Music South Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa Sipho Dlamini, arrives in tandem with the recently revealed Coming 2 America Original Motion Picture Soundtrack and the highly anticipated comedy ‘Coming 2 America,’ which premieres exclusively on Amazon Prime Video in 240 countries and territories the same day.

“It was important for Def Jam Africa to be involved because the first film was so legendary to Africans in the diaspora,” said Sipho Dlamini. “The film franchise is tongue-in-cheek but conveys a rich quality of life in Africa. That is reflected in the music on Rhythms of Zamunda. We wanted to represent some of the sounds that are relevant, impactful and current on the continent.”

A Pan-African project that bridges the distance between countries and cultures, Rhythms of Zamunda traces a musical roadmap through Western, Eastern, and South African soundscapes and introduces this synergy to listeners worldwide.

The record boasts contributions from Nigerian superstar Tiwa Savage and Tekno, the late DJ Arafat from Côte d’Ivoire, Prince Kaybee and Msaki of South Africa, and Fally Ipupa from the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Check out the full tracklisting below:

1. Black And White – Nasty C ft. Ari Lennox
2. Owo Ni Koko – Larry Gaaga & Umuobiligbo
3. Magnet – Locko
4. Skeletun – Tekno
5. Overdue – Tellaman Feat. Sha Sha
6. Jiggy Bop – Alpha P & TMXO
7. Dosabado – DJ Arafat
8. Fetch Your Life – Prince Kaybee Feat. Msaki
9. Dangerous Love – Tiwa Savage (DJ Ganyani Amapiano Radio Edit Remix)
10. Moya Omubi – Th&o.
11. Hallelujah – Diamond Platnumz Feat. Morgan Heritage
12. Ye Mama – Toofan Feat. Fally Ipupa
13. Ain’t It True – Bonj
14. Loke Loke – Gemini Major Feat. ANATII
15. Shesha – De Mthuda & Njelic
16. Everything – Ricky Tyler