The government of the Democratic Republic of Congo has declared a state of emergency with the outbreak of the fatal disease, Ebola.


This was declared after two confirmed cases out of five samples on Tuesday by the World Health Organization(WHO). Over the past five weeks, there have been 21 confirmed cases of the disease resulting to 17 deaths. The outbreak has occurred in the province of Bikoro in the North-West region of the country.


A government statement on Tuesday stated that the Ministry of Health has “taken all necessary measures to respond promptly and effectively to the new epidemic in the DRC’s national territory”. The regional director of the WHO for Africa, Dr. Matshidiso Moeti, said that more samples will be gathered, heavy conducting of contact tracing, and engaging with the communities on prevention and control.


He also said that the WHO “will work closely with health authorities and partners to support the national response.”


This is the month outbreak of the disease since its discovery in the Democratic Republic of Congo in 1976 with its last outbreak in 2017 in the Bas Uele Province. In stopping the disease spreading to other countries, the WHO released $1million from a fund to support its activities for three months.


Ebola is a virus disease that affect humans and nonhuman primates like monkeys and gorillas. It can be contacted for an affected primate and through human-to-human population. Nigeria have taken action with direct surveillance around neighboring countries.






Photo Credit: AFP


Leave a Comment