Larry Gaaga Appointed Vice President, A&R, At Def Jam Africa

Nigerian record label executive, songwriter, recording artist, and producer Larry Gaaga attains new heights as he has been appointed as Vice President, A&R, at Def Jam Africa, a division of Universal Music Group (UMG).

The news was made official on the 13th of June and shares that Gaaga will head the A&R division of the company in English-speaking markets working with Sipho Dlamini, CEO, Universal Music South Africa & Sub-Saharan Africa.

His team will work to identify and sign African continent talent that “speaks to and resonates with the defining culture and artistry of the Def Jam legacy”, says the company.

Def Jam Africa launched in May 2020, and is now home to musicians and artists Boity, Cassper Nyovest, Nadia Nakai, Tshego, Tellaman, Ricky Tyler and the South African star Nasty C, who has since signed to Def Jam Recordings in the United States through a joint venture with Universal Music Africa.

Interestingly, Larry Gaaga himself had been one of the label’s first flagship signees and had also served in the capacity of a manager at the record company.

“I’m excited at the opportunity I’ve been entrusted with here at Def Jam Africa.” Larry Gaaga says while speaking on his new position. “My experience as an artist and manager at the label, not only gives me a unique perspective to share with our talent, but means I’m well versed in the spirit and culture of this legacy label.” he further revealed.

“Larry is a talented creative, astute A&R and strategic executive, expanding his relationship with Def Jam is an exciting next step in Africa’s hip hop story and a big move for the culture.” Sipho Dlamini, CEO, Universal Music South Africa & Sub-Saharan Africa said commenting on Larry Gaaga’s appointment.

Larry Gaaga is the musical mastermind behind the cultural hit, “Edegede” which features Phyno, Flavour and Theresa Onuoha. Before that, he’d also released multiple hit singles, from “Gaga Shuffle” with 2Baba, “Doe” featuring Davido, “Low” featuring WizKid, Slow Burner and many others.