Mohamed Salah Wins African Player Of The Year Award

Mohamed Salah Wins African Player Of The Year Award

by | 5th January 2018
Mohamed Salah

Mohamed Salah, the Egypt forward, won 2017 Caf African Player of the Year award at awards ceremony which took place in Accra.


Salah takes home the award for the first time with his Liverpool team-mate Sadio Mané coming second and Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang finishing in third.


The 25-year-old turned in a stunning campaign for Liverpool in 2017 as he scored 17 goals in 21 games after joining the English Premier League side from AS Roma.


On the international scene, he helped Egypt to a second place finish at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, including goals against Ghana and Burkina Faso. His brace against Congo in October helped the Pharaoh qualify for their first Fifa World Cup since 1990 to round off a sensational year.


The Caf Player of the Year award was initially pared down to a shortlist of 30. From there, Salah, Aubameyang and Mane were named the three finalists in December.


The winner of the award was selected by the current coaches and captain from every men’s national team in Africa.


See full list of winners:


Legend Award

Ibrahim Sunday


Women’s National Team of the Year

South Africa


Leader of the Year

Ahmed Yahya (Mauritania)


Club of the Year

Wydad Casablanca


Coach of the Year

Hector Cuper (Egypt)


Youth Player of the Year

Patson Daka (Zambia)


Men’s National Team of the Year



Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala


African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt)


Ghanaian leader Nana Akufo-Addo and Liberian president-elect and former CAF Player of the Year, George Weah were also honoured with platinum awards.