With much anticipation for the World Cup, Nigeria has released their 30-man provisional squad in build-up for their warm-up friendlies and the tournament itself.


Senior players such as John Obi Mikel, Ahmed Musa, Victor Musa and Leo Balogun were featured in the squad. Alex Iwobi of Arsenal and Kelechi Ihenancho of Leicester City were featured in the squad as they will be playing in the World Cup for the first time. Brown Ideye who has been a feature for the Super Eagles was not included in the roster.


Nigeria qualified for the World Cup unbeaten in their final qualifying group which had the likes of Algeria and Cameroon. Nigeria are in Group D alongside Two-time winners and runners-up from the last tournament Argentina, Croatia, and Iceland who are one of the debutants of the tournaments. Nigeria’s first game is against Croatia on the 16th of June in Kaliningrad.


Nigeria Squad in full:


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Carina), Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United), Ikechuwku Ezenwa (Enyimba FC).


Defenders: Leon Balodun (Mainz), William Troost Ekong (Bursaspor), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa), Shehu Abdullahi (Bursaspor), Tyrone Ebuehi (Ado den Haag), Ola Aina (Hull City), Elderson Echiejille (Cercle Brugge), Brian Idowu (Amkar Perm), Stephen Eze (Lokomotiv Plovdiv).


Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Tianjin Teda), Joel Obi (Torino), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor), Etebo Oghenekaro (Las Palmas), John Ogu (Hapoel Beer Sheva), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City), Uche Agbo (Standard Liege), Mikel Agu (Bursaspor).


Forwards: Alex Iwobi (Arsenal), Victor Moses (Chelsea), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow), Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars), Moses Simon (KAA Gent), Simy Nwankwo (Crotone).







Leave a Comment