Ronaldo, Messi, Buffon Make UEFA Player Of The Year Shortlist

Ronaldo, Messi, Buffon Make UEFA Player Of The Year Shortlist

by | 16th August 2017
Lionel Mess, Gianluigi Buffon and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Gianluigi Buffon have been nominated for the UEFA’s Player of the Year award, the sport’s European governing body said on Tuesday.


Ronaldo helped Real Madrid to a second consecutive Champions League title and finished as the tournament’s top scorer with 12 goals.


Goalkeeper Buffon led Juventus to a sixth successive Serie A title, a third-straight Italian Cup success and a runner-up finish in the Champions League.


Messi claimed the Spanish King’s Cup with Barcelona and finished as La Liga’s top scorer with 37 goals last season.


The award will be presented at the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco on Thursday 24 August.


The shortlist was decided by the 80 coaches of the clubs that played in the Champions League and Europa League group stages, as well as 55 journalists.


Luis Suarez who scored 37 goals in all competition last season and new world record signing Neymar missed out of the list this year.


The players who make up the rest of the top 10 are:


  • 4: Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid)


  • 5: Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)


  • 6: Paulo Dybala (Argentina, Juventus)


  • 7: Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)


  • 8: Kylian Mbappe (France, Monaco)


  • 9: Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern Munich)


  • 10: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Manchester United)


Pernille Harder (Denmark, Linkoping and Wolfsburg), Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany, Lyon) and Lieke Martens (Netherlands, Rosengard and Barcelona) are the three nominees for the women’s award.